MSU School of Architecture Timeline

1973 — The Institutions of Higher Learning Board of Trustees establishes the first and only flagship professional architecture degree in Mississippi with leadership from Provost John K. Bettersworth; President William L. Giles; Robert V.M. Harrison, FAIA, FCSI; and the Mississippi Chapter of the American Institute of Architects.

1974 – William G. McMinn is named the first dean of the School of Architecture.

1977 — Studio space relocates to the Giles Hall barn, which was an animal judging pavilion built in the 1920s and the location of the School of Architecture ever since.

1978 — The first class of Bachelor of Architecture recipients —16 strong — graduates from Mississippi State.

1979 – The School of Architecture receives its initial accreditation from the National Architectural Accrediting Board. The Small Town Center is created to support small town-design research and education through community projects. Two graduate programs grew from the work of this center: the Master of Science in Architecture and the Master of Science in Small Town Studies.

1981 — State legislators approve \$4.9 million to expand the Giles Hall barn by adding classroom and office space.

1983 — National presidents of the American Institute of Architects, Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture, National Council of Architectural Registration Boards and National Architectural Accrediting Board attend the dedication ceremony of the newly converted Giles Hall.

1984 — James F. Barker becomes the second dean of the School of Architecture.

1986 – Michael F. Fazio is appointed Interim Dean of the School of Architecture.

1987 — John M. McRae becomes the third dean of the School of Architecture.

1992 – The School of Architecture is the first architecture program in the nation to require student-owned laptops in the design studios. The program is called "Digital Nomads."

1995 — The Master of Science Degree in Digital Design/Computer Visualization is organized and courses begin.

1996 — In the state capitol, the School of Architecture establishes the Jackson Community Design Center, in the renovated Elks Club building where the Fifth-Year program is housed.

2001 — James L. West becomes the fourth dean of the School of Architecture.

2003 – The School of Architecture was renamed the College of Architecture with no changes in the academic structure. The College of Architecture receives its largest gift to date: a \$2.5

million endowment to the Small Town Center by Fred Carl of the Viking Range Corporation based in Greenwood. The College of Architecture 5th Year Program and the Jackson Community Design Center move into the renovated Stuart C. Irby Jr. Studios at 509 East Capitol Street in Jackson, MS across from the historic Old Capitol Building.

2004 — Under the leadership of Provost Peter W. Rabideau, the College of Architecture, Art and Design is formed with James L. West as dean. David Lewis is named interim director of the new School of Architecture.

2005 — The School of Architecture receives its first endowed professorship: the F.L. Crane Professorship in Architecture. Following Hurricane Katrina, the Gulf Coast Community Design Studio is established in Biloxi, and David J. Perkes is named director.

2007 — Caleb Crawford is named director of the School of Architecture. The School of Architecture receives its first facility endowment to rename the Giles Hall Library for Bob and Kathy Luke.

2009 — F.L. Crane Professor and senior faculty member Michael Berk is named director of the School of Architecture. The School received an endowment for the Robert and Freda Harrison Endowed Visiting Lecture Series. The School of Architecture is identified as one of the top schools in the nation in the areas of Community Design and Social Justice by *ARCHITECT* magazine.

2010 — The School of Architecture receives an endowment to rename Giles Auditorium for Robert and Freda Harrison.

TODAY — School of Architecture and Building Construction Science students and faculty now share a common Collaborative Tectonics Studio for two semesters. This full year-long studio collaboration is the first of its kind in the nation. The GCCDS is named one of 10 design teams to participate in the HUD sponsored Rebuild by Design program for rebuilding after Hurricane Sandy.