Interior Design holds convocation and senior internship presentations

September 23rd, 2015 Comments Off on Interior Design holds convocation and senior internship presentations

jQuery(function($) {
id: ‘1364’,
fx: ‘fade’,
width: 480,
height: 400,
domain: ‘’,
timeout: 3000 });

August 2015 interior design graduates came back to campus on Fri., Sept. 11 to present their summer internships at the program’s annual fall convocation:

Sidney Ashmore                     Interior Architects| Raleigh, N.C.
Kindyl Black                           Earl Swensson Associates | Nashville, Tenn.
Erin Bristol                             JH&H Architects Planners Interiors, P.A. | Jackson
Ebbony Evans                         Hillsman Inc. | Atlanta, Ga.
Mary Whitney Evins              Goodwyn Mills & Cawood | Birmingham, Ala.
Emily Hardin                          Gensler | Dallas, Texas
Chelsea Harrell                       LS3P | Charlotte, N.C.
Lauren Henson                       APG Office Furnishings | Memphis, Tenn.
Marguerite Johnson              Pursley Dixon Architecture | Charlotte, N.C.
Jessica Kent                            Cohen, Carnaggio, Reynolds | Birmingham, Ala.
Caitlyn McDade                     Design Studio | Ridgeland
Krystal Mitchell                     Studio 11 Design | Dallas, Texas
Mackenzie Pettit                    RD Jones & Associates | Chevy Chase, Md.
Brooke Ratliff                         Army Corps of Engineers | Huntsville, Ala.
Cristen Richard                      LIVE Design Group | Birmingham, Ala.
Caroline Riley                         Gensler | Atlanta, Ga.
Emily Robinson                      Hnedak Bobo Group | Memphis, Tenn.
Taylor Tillman                        GFF, Inc. | Dallas, Texas
Anabel Wilson                        Sunbelt Lighting, LLC | Flowood

Several student accomplishments were also announced as well as introductions of the 2015-2016 ASID officers.

Anna Strohm, a senior, received the national Celia Moh Scholarship. The scholarship ranges from $20,ooo – $30,000 and will also provide Strohm with an all-expenses-paid trip to High Point Market, “The Interior Design, Home Furnishings and Home Decor event of the year,” in High Point, N.C.

The interior design students who were part of the winning teams for the 2015 Brasfield & Gorrie Interdisciplinary Student Design Competition were:
First Place: Vanessa Holden
Second Place: Liz Grantham and Anna Strohm
Third Place: Kailyn Johnson and Cheyenne  Underwood

Winners of the portfolio competition honoring longtime faculty member Margaret Bateman were 2015 graduates Caroline Riley and Emily Hardin.

2015-2016 Interior Design Scholarships:

  • Sherry Wingo Memorial Scholarship
    Victoria Owchar, senior, $800
    Daniella Bower, senior, $800
  • Linda Clark Memorial Scholarship
    Jennifer Potter, senior, $800
    Haley Austin, junior, $650
    Caroline Smith, junior, $650

2014-2015 Knoll Furniture Design Competition Winners:
First Place: Emily Robinson, $500
Second Place: Daniella Bower
Honorable Mention: Ebony Evans

Beginning in the spring, the Knoll Furniture Design Competition, sponsored by Interior Elements, will become a $1,000 scholarship open to all seniors in the program.

covocation 15 09112015_172015-2016 ASID Officers:
Anna Strohm- President
Haley Austin- Vice President
Daniella Bower- Secretary
Blake Marlar- Treasurer
Vanessa Holden- Resource Chair
Kayla Thompson- Fundraising Chair
Victoria Owchar and Carley Jones- Community Service Chairs
Liz Grantham and Ali Carter- Photography Chairs
Jennifer Potter- Senior Representative
Joy Bottom- Junior Representative
Austin DeLoach- Sophomore Representativesinopsis film

Annual collaborative student competition held

September 2nd, 2015 Comments Off on Annual collaborative student competition held

Brasfield and Gorrie Student Design Competition 2015 from CAADatMSU on Vimeo.

The Fifth Annual Brasfield & Gorrie Student Design Competition was held from Mon., Aug. 17 through Fri., Aug. 28.

Ten teams composed of students from the four departments in the College of Architecture, Art and Design worked together over these two intensive weeks to create a branding, interior design, architectural design and construction strategy for a new local brewery, SweetGum Brewing Company.

The students presented their final work at the Cullis Wade Depot Art Gallery on Fri., Aug. 28 from 1:30 – 4 p.m. Reviewers from Brasfield & Gorrie General Contractors, Fuscia Architects and Brewworks and SweetGum Brewing Company attended to review the student work and to choose teams for the top three design awards.

The winning teams were:

First Place
first place


  • Michael Carraway – Building Construction Science
  • Brent Gaudé – Building Construction Science
  • Vanessa Holden – Interior Design
  • Edward Holmes V – Architecture
  • Casey Jennings – Graphic Design
  • Ben Marshall – Architecture
  • Jared Robinson – Architecture

Second Place
second place

  • Ashton Aime – Architecture
  • Caleb Fearing – Architecture
  • Liz Grantham – Interior Design
  • Robby Keifer – Building Construction Science
  • Keith Kellum- Graphic Design
  • Anna Strohm – Interior Design
  • Nathan Thomas – Architecture

Third Place
third place

  • Kyle Alford – Building Construction Science
  • Kaiyla Barber – Graphic Design
  • Ria Bennett – Architecture
  • Josh Johnson – Architecture
  • Kalyn Johnson – Interior Design
  • Luke Marshall – Architecture
  • Cheyenne Underwood – Interior Design

Click here to view the winning team projects on our student work site.

Students hard at work:

Final presentations:

Q&A by Marissa Landon:BrasfieldClick here to download the PDF file.

You are currently viewing the archives for September, 2015 in the Interior Design Program News.