Students present designs for Crosby Arboretum

April 10th, 2013 Comments Off on Students present designs for Crosby Arboretum

Students present their bridge and interpretive viewing platforms to the Board of the Crosby Arboretum.

Mississippi State students in Professor Hans Herrmann and Professor Robert Brzuszek’s elective course, Building Bridges: Interdisciplinary Landscape Architecture and Architecture Design and Fabrication, recently worked on designs for a bridge and interpretive viewing platform for the Crosby Arboretum.

Students in the course, which include second- and fourth-year architecture students and landscape architecture students, presented their ideas to the board of the arboretum this past weekend.

Ruth Crosby, daughter of L.O. Crosby Jr., serves on the board and was present for the presentation.

“It was so good to get to visit with Hans and students,” she said. “I found myself mulling over their ideas  the remainder of the weekend.  It’s exciting to see young, creative, enthusiastic talent.”

The arboretum board will consider the proposals with intention to work further with Professors Brzuszek and Herrmann to eventually complete a design and construct the project in the Arboretum. 

The Crosby Arboretum is a living memorial dedicated to the late L.O. Crosby Jr. Crosby was a prominent forestry figure, civic leader and philanthropist who held a deep compassion for nature. After his death, his family decided to transform the strawberry farm on Ridge Road in Picayune into an interpretive center for native plants of the Pearl River Drainage Basin. The Crosby Arboretum Foundation was established to implement this concept. A series of exhibits were designated to display plant communities typical of Southern Mississippi ecosystems. Construction began in the early 1980s, and the arboretum was dedicated to public use in 1986. In 1997, the Foundation teamed with Mississippi State University so that the Arboretum could expand their resources.

Students involved in the project include:
Devin Carr (2nd-year architecture)
Michael Davis (4th-year architecture)
Kevin Flores (2nd-year architecture)
Jerry Hill (4th-year landscape architecture)
West Pierce (2nd-year architecture)
Nick Purvis (4th-year architecture)
Cody Smith (2nd-year architecture)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,