MSU retired faculty group honors architecture student

January 20th, 2017 Comments Off on MSU retired faculty group honors architecture student

By Sasha Steinberg | Mississippi State University

Four current students and a December graduate of Mississippi State are receiving honors from the university’s Association of Retired Faculty.

This year’s group includes Sara A. “Abi” Barnes of Louisville; Emily M. Farrar, a civil engineering/environmental engineering major from Pass Christian; Morgan Hydrick, an English and communication/public relations double-major from Brandon; Caroline E. Kelsoe, an environmental economics and management major from Moody, Alabama; and Lara Lynn Waddell, an architecture major from Marietta.

All are seniors but Barnes, who last month received a cum laude degree in sociology.

This year’s student winners were recognized formally at the organization’s recent undergraduate banquet.

(photo by Russ Houston / © Mississippi State University)

—Waddell received the William L. Giles Award for Excellence in Architecture. She is a member of Tau Sigma Delta national honor society and National Organization of Minority Architecture Students. She has interned with Archimania, a Memphis, Tennessee-based, award-winning architecture firm and currently is a drawing and teaching assistant in the College of Architecture, Art and Design. Among other college honors, she was selected for the School of Architecture’s 2016 William Giles Award for design excellence and a $20,000 Aydelott Travel Award.

The ARF awards are memorials to Giles, MSU’s 13th president; Lindley, dean of the then-College of Agriculture and Home Economics; Simrall, dean of the then-College of Engineering; and Williams, an English professor, editor of the campus-based Mississippi Quarterly and first president of the ARF.

MSU is Mississippi’s leading university, available online at

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,