Fourth-year architecture capstone award winners announced

May 22nd, 2014 Comments Off on Fourth-year architecture capstone award winners announced

$500 winners (l to r): John Taylor Schaffhauser and Landon Kennedy

$500 winners (l to r): John Taylor Schaffhauser and Landon Kennedy

This year, the students of the Mississippi State University School of Architecture worked on a project to generate schematic design proposals and scenarios for a proposed “Mississippi Maritime Museum” to honor the legendary history of shipbuilding in Pascagoula and the various maritime interests on the Mississippi Gulf Coast. The students and faculty worked closely with the museum’s ten-member Board of Directors, beginning the project in January with a design charette for the adaptive reuse of the former Math and Science building located on the PHS campus. The charrette was led by the MSU studio faculty and School of Architecture’s Gulf Coast Community Design Studio.

All thirty-four students were inspired by the idea that this could be a real built project one day and that their efforts held the potential to influence the future programming and design of the actual museum. Results of the students’ work will be used to build public interest and are hoped to be instrumental components of the Museum board’s fundraising strategy. The proposed site is currently known as River Park, located on Lowery Island in the Pascagoula Riverway, North of the Hwy. 90 bridge. The design studio’s funding and awards were sponsored by the Mississippi Maritime Museum Board of Directors, who also provided support for numerous student design awards and the creation of a print publication.

The studio culminated with two Capstone Awards in recognition of exceptional comprehensive design as demonstrated by a fourth-year student. The student winners were chosen by special guest critic Belinda Stewart, FAIA, and the MMM Board. Landon Kennedy and John Taylor Schaffhauser each received $500. A design award honorable mention went to Jonathan Greer, and Brooke Dorman and William Commorado were each honored with a studio book award.

Read the story on MSU’s website.

Read the story by the Mississippi Press.

Read the story by WCBI.

Click here to view the project book.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,