Faculty, staff recognized during annual MSU awards program

May 4th, 2017 Comments Off on Faculty, staff recognized during annual MSU awards program

CAAD faculty were recently honored at the annual MSU Faculty Awards and Recognition Reception. From left: Interior Design Director and Professor Beth Miller, Professor Marita Gootee (art), Professor Jamie Mixon (art), Assistant Professor Michele Herrmann (building construction science), Dean Jim West, Assistant Professor Emily McGlohn (architecture) and Associate Professor Hans Herrmann (architecture). | Photo by Russ Houston | © Mississippi State University

By Sasha Steinberg | Mississippi State University

Mississippi State is a place where faculty and staff are driven to excel in teaching, research and service while inspiring younger generations of Bulldog students to do the same. During the April 27 Faculty Awards and Recognition Reception, the university recognized individuals who have made such commitments over the course of the 2016-17 academic year.

Joanne E. Beriswill officially was designated a John Grisham Master Teacher, the tribute to classroom instruction excellence named for the MSU alumnus and internationally recognized author. An assistant professor in the Department of Instructional Systems and Workforce Development, Beriswill joins the highly select group serving as role models and mentors for campus colleagues.

Representatives of the colleges of Arts and Sciences, Forest Resources and Veterinary Medicine also were honored at the annual spring-semester program. They include (alphabetically):

—College of Arts and Sciences Academic Coordinator Tracy M. Britt, staff recipient of the Irvin Atly Jefcoat Excellence in Advising Award;

—Assistant Extension Professor Leslie Burger of the Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Aquaculture, faculty recipient of the Irvin Atly Jefcoat Excellence in Advising Award;

—Associate Professor of History James C. “Jim” Giesen, the MSU Alumni Association’s Outstanding Graduate Student Mentor Award;

—Professor Robert L. “Bob” Linford of the College of Veterinary Medicine’s Department of Clinical Sciences, the MSU Alumni Association’s Graduate Teaching Excellence Award; and

—Associate Professor Molly K. Zuckerman of the Department of Anthropology and Middle Eastern Cultures, the MSU Alumni Association’s Early Career Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Award.

Additionally, leaders from the Judy and Bobby Shackouls Honors College, MSU Libraries and all eight of the university’s academic colleges offered words of praise for exceptional work and achievements of faculty during the 2016-17 academic year.

Among those recognized was Janice E. Chambers, Mississippi State’s recipient of the 2017 Southeastern Conference Faculty Achievement Award. A William L. Giles Distinguished Professor of Veterinary Medicine, she is a longtime member of the College of Veterinary Medicine faculty who already holds major international commendations as a Diplomate of the American Board of Toxicology and Fellow of the Academy of Toxicological Sciences.

During the afternoon ceremony, MSU Provost and Executive Vice President Judy Bonner praised Mississippi State as “a very special place for students to come and learn, for faculty and staff to enjoy working, and for alumni to come back and cherish the wonderful times that they had while they were students.”

Bonner said, “One of the most exciting parts of the academic year is that as it comes to a close, we’re able to host ceremonies like this where we can recognize those who have excelled and done extraordinary things.”

MSU is Mississippi’s leading university, available online at www.msstate.edu.

CAAD Recognitions:

  • Interior Design: Beth Miller
    Beth was e
    lected as the chair of the State of Mississippi Interior Design Advisory Council Board, which is under the State Board of Architecture and is appointed by the governor. The Interior Design Advisory Board is the governing board for all certified interior designers in the state. They approve all applicants and vote on policies that affect the board and the profession. In her position as chair, Miller will be the Mississippi Delegate to theCouncil for Interior Design Qualification (CIDQ), the premiere certifying organization for interior design professionals. 
  • Art: Marita Gootee, Jamie Mixon
    Marita was for the second year in a row selected as a finalist in the Julia Margaret Cameron Award for Women Photographers in which four of her photographs were selected for this international award and exhibition and seven of her photographs were selected by an international jury for inclusion in the 4th Biennial of Fine Art and Documentary Photography in Berlin.

    • Jamie Mixon received a HOW International Design Award for her Mumford and Sons concert poster. Sponsored annually by HOW magazine, the International Design Award competition recognizes excellence on a global scale. Mixon is one of 292 recipients selected from over 1,000 entries submitted from around the world. Her Motley Crue poster was a Merit Winner in the same competition in  2016.  In addition, she was a finalist for the Poster of the Year Competition and Exhibition in the 2016 CIC Poster Competition/Pollstar LIVE National Concert Industry Awards for her Fleetwood Mac Concert Poster.  
  • Architecture and Building Construction Science: Hans Herrmann, Michele Herrmann, Emily McGlohn
    Hans: Cooper-Hewitt Smithsonian Exhibition 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,