Heritage Museum project lands EPA award

June 22nd, 2015 Comments Off on Heritage Museum project lands EPA award

Photo by Megan Bean | Mississippi State

Photo by Megan Bean | Mississippi State

Via WTVA.com

A rain garden project in Starkville has been awarded a regional award from the Environmental Protection Agency.

Mississippi State received the 2015 EPA Rain Catcher Award in the Neighborhood/Community Category for the Oktibbeha County Heritage Museum’s rain garden program.

The five-year project was designed and constructed by MSU students, faculty and volunteers.

The project included a rain garden, public use pavilion, cistern and sand filter and education signage to explain the elements of the project.

Over 200 MSU students from various fields of study worked on the garden which now serves as a demonstration site for North Mississippi.

The Rain Catcher Award recognizes excellence for using natural or man-made systems to manage stormwater and reduce water impacts.

The work helps reduce the volume of stormwater discharges and removes pollutants present in runoff.

Additional information on Mississippi State University’s stormwater project can be found at: http://oktibbehaheritagemuseum.com/wordpress/.

Read the story at WCBI.com.

Read the story by the Sun Herald.

Read the story on MSU’s website.


The Green Building Technology Demonstration Pavilion project was realized under the guidance School of Architecture assistant professor Hans C. Herrmann, AIA, LEED Green Associate, and assistant professor of landscape architecture W. Cory Gallo, ASLA, with special assistance by extension associate Brian Tempelton, ASLA.

It was featured by the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) as a 2013 Year of Public Service Project and was awarded an American Society of Landscape Architects, Mississippi Chapter, Merit Award.

The project also received an ASLA Professional and Student Award of Excellence in the category of Student Collaboration. (Click here to see the full article)

Faculty Advisors included Brian Templeton, ASLA; Cory Gallo, ASLA; Wayne Wilkerson; Tim Schauwecker; Hans Hermann, AIA; Justin Taylor; and Suzanne Powney.

Students who worked on the project include: (architecture) Jared Barnett, Amy Bragg, Reed Bradford, Katherine Ernst, Jonathon Greer, Scott Polley, Nick Purvis, Salena Tew and John Thomas; (building construction science) Lake Jackson; and (art) Johnathan Nowell.

You are currently browsing entries tagged with 2015 EPA Rain Catcher Award in the Neighborhood/Community Category at School Of Architecture News.