Third-year architecture students present final projects, win BIA Awards

April 30th, 2013 Comments Off on Third-year architecture students present final projects, win BIA Awards

Haley Whiteman, who won a $1,000 Brick Award for her project, is busy at work before the final review presentation.

The third-year studio in the School of Architecture presented their designs for a Community Arts Center project located in Birmingham, Ala., on Tuesday, April 23. Professors were Alexis Gregory, AIA; Emily McGlohn; Todd Walker, FAIA; and Chris Cosper, AIA (BCS).

The students worked on intermittent assignments throughout the semester with the second-year Building Construction Science students, allowing both studios time to work independently and as a team.

The students also researched and created the project programs consisting of three different focus areas for the Community Arts Center – Film/Performing Arts, Visual Arts and Historic/Industrial Arts. The students were allowed to choose one of the three possible program types, and they used this to create their building design. The students were also tasked with utilizing brick as a major component in their building but in a new and innovative way. This challenge, part of a yearly design competition funded by a generous grant from the Brick Industry Association (BIA), supports the pedagogical focus of the studio as the Tectonics II studio for the School of Architecture.

The reviewers of the student work included Glen Clapper, AIA, architectural services manager for the Brick Industry Association in the Southeast Region; Patrick Nelson, AIA, and Jermaine Washington, principals of Regarding Architecture in Birmingham; Brittany Foley, NCARB, LEED AP BD+C, project architect with Williams Blackstock Architects in Birmingham; Matt Foley, NCARB, LEED AP, associate at Davis Architects in Birmingham; and Roy Decker, principal of Duvall Decker Architects P.A. located in Jackson.

The reviewers selected the winning projects by looking at how the students utilized brick as both a design and construction material in their project and felt that the winning projects were the most successful in their use of brick.

Brick Industry Association Winners 2013:
Samantha King – $1,000 Brick Award
Haley Whiteman – $1,000 Brick Award
Robert Ledet – Honorable Mention
John Taylor Schaffhauser – Honorable Mention

Students hard at work on their projects before the final reviews:

Final reviews:

You are currently browsing entries tagged with Regarding Architecture at School Of Architecture News.